American Highlander

The many musings of an American Celt

liberals’ inability to take critiscm and have cvil discussions

Posted by Reid on October 2, 2008

The premise presented in this article has happened to me a couple of times this week–after people engage me in the political discussion. I know it is hard to believe that I am not the instigator–I am on Facebook since I post articles that interest me– but most times in person I am not … I just challenge things that I believe are wrong. I am not going to sit in a conversation and just “nod and look pretty” when people (who have not done any real homework except watch SNL) spout of un-truths. So as we engage the dialogue and get to talking about real issues (not the ad hominem attacks), I am shut down and am not allowed to finish the discussion… Interesting discussion and debate tactic, but it happens too often for me to believe that the majority of “left wingers” know how to engage in civil discourse. There are a few who embrace the real discussion and I enjoy talking with liberals that do this, it is how we can sharpen our thoughts and positions. But why is this the exception and not the rule?

This article with Selwyn Duke addresses this beyond the criticism of creepy video of the Obama children… I enjoy reading him not only does he challenge my vocabulary (Like Victor Davis Hanson does) but he challenges my thoughts… he is through and articulate. If you read it I hope you enjoy it, even if you don’t agree with him.

Please take a look at the entire article on his site:

The Obama Youth

Leave a Reply

 
