American Highlander

The many musings of an American Celt

  • My Twitter Feed

Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness

Posted by Reid on March 26, 2009

As usual a great post at Gay Patriot (I admit I am a total groupie)  I agree with this, ok fine, I LOVE this part:

My response is simple, you don’t go to conservatives begging for equality, not for gays, not for anyone. When conservatives are true to their principles, we speak out for freedom. Indeed, freedom, until all too recently, has been the watchword of the American political tradition. Thomas Jefferson did indeed write in the Declaration of Independence that we are “created equal,” but the rights with which we are “endowed” included “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” Equality didn’t make the list.

As with anything at GP read the whole thing

Sometimes simple is best… I think the “gay movement” has convinced itself and the community at large that somehow it is not equal–instead of figuring out how best to get legal recognition of our relationships, we like to be dramatic about it.

I think the penchant for the stereotype of drama queens fits this nicely (and unfortunately), since many in the movement liken their lives (consciously or unconsciously) to feel like a reality television show. All of a sudden a made up victimization of not being equal emerges… and everyone goes with it. In the mean time they alienate those “moderate” conservatives and others that may have helped achieve the goal.

3 Responses to “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”

  1. Thanks for your words. You are more than kind. 😉

  2. […] perspective, and I combine this perspective with the GP Post  and my subsequent reaction on “Equality”… this leads me to wonder why so many “types” of conservatives cannot stand […]

Leave a comment